Which Is Your Favourite Radio Station?

Written by Jan Rosser in Socialising on 25 Mar 2020 | Views: 23

Which Is Your Favourite Radio Station?

We are now going to be in our homes a lot more and probably listening to the radio.

A few years ago, I wrote an article asking members which is favourite radio station and these were the results from 73 friends and family in March 2016. 

Radio 4  24

Radio 2  21 

BBC Local Radio Stations 7

Classic FM 6

Radio 3 3

Smooth 4

Magic 2

LBC 1

GMR 1

Absolute 1

Heart 1

Beach 1

Radio 1 1

Today, March 25th,  to date I have had 57 responses and the stations are listed in order of popularity.

Radio 4  9

LBC   7

Classic FM  7

Radio 2    6

Radio 4 Extra  5

Talk Radio   4

BBC Hereford and Worcester 2

Smooth Radio  2

BBC Sounds   2

Capital FM  1

Radio 3  1

Sun FM  1

BBC Sounds   2

Radio London  1

Radio Wales  1

Virgin  1

Heart 80's  1

Radio 6 Music  1

Sunshine Radio  1

KCFM  1

East Point Radio  1

Interestingly Radio 4 is top again and this time LBC is second, but  there were  73 responses in 2016 and 52 to date in March 2020.

As for my favourite radio station it is Radio 4 in the house and Radio 2 in the car. Some great programmes are on Radio 4, Woman's HourMoney Box,  You and YoursDesert Island DiscsJust a MinuteNews Quiz, and of course, The Archers.I enjoy Jeremy Vine and Steve Wright In the Afternoon if I am out driving, plus Johnnie Walker  at the weekend.

When I was young, my late mother used to write down the Top Twenty for me on a Tuesday lunchtime when I was at secondary school. Circa 1966-1971. I was an avid Radio 1 fan from the day it started broadcasting in 1967 and Tony Blackburn played Flowers In the Rain by The Move, but now I am ashamed to say I don't know any chart postions or who is Number 1!

I could recite the top twenty off by heart week in week out and my late father would often comment "If only you would pay attention to your school work in the same way that you do this, you will go far!" 

Commercial radio stations are annoying as they have too many adverts and the DJ's often end tracks before they have finished playing.

If any of you want to comment on which station you listen to and why, I can update these statistics!!

 

The Move Flowers in the Rain 1967 - one of my favourites back then!

Support Reviewspot by browsing the products below

Tags

Like this post? Share it with your friends

Related Articles

Synopsis And Readers Reviews Of A Long Dark Rainbow By Michael Tappenden

Synopsis And Readers Reviews Of A Long Dark Rainbow By Michael Tappenden

Philippa Iliffe of The Book Guild Ltd very kindly sent out copies of The Long Dark Rainbow to reviewers. Author Michael Tappenden starts off with a synopsis.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Nov 2019

Reviewing My  Trip To Ypres To Visit The Menin Gate

Reviewing My Trip To Ypres To Visit The Menin Gate

I have wanted to visit The Menin Gate in Ypres- now known as Ieper for several years and we at last managed it earlier last month.

By Sheila Holley | 10 Nov 2019

The Lost Generation.  Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

The Lost Generation. Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

When was the last time saw an album of someone’s family photos and, more importantly, when was the last time you looked – yes really looked  – at your own family photographs?  

By Di Castle | 21 Sep 2019

Socialising Whilst Saving Money!

Socialising Whilst Saving Money!

Do you often wish you could go out more, but everywhere is so expensive? You may be surprised to find that with a little bit of planning, a good time can be had by all!

By Jan Rosser | 13 Mar 2020

Time To Take Stock? - Managing Your Weekly Money Budget Sensibly Like It Was In The 50's And 60's

Time To Take Stock? - Managing Your Weekly Money Budget Sensibly Like It Was In The 50's And 60's

I am a child of the fifties. I come from working class stock, my dad was a carpenter for Brighton Council for forty nine years . 

By Anne Elizabeth Jones | 04 Jun 2020

Walking For Health - Discussing The Benefits Of A Daily Stroll

Walking For Health - Discussing The Benefits Of A Daily Stroll

The Walking for Health Scheme was the brainchild of Doctor Bird who was a GP in Berkshire. He felt strongly that so many of his patients could enjoy better health if only they took more exercise.

By Kelly Florentia | 26 Mar 2020

successfulsinging.com

Our goal is to provide our singing community with quality products

and resources to help get the most from their singing.

Over 70 FREE videos too, including singing lessons, scales, breathing exercises etc.

Subscribe below

 

The Final Reckoning is an atmospheric, twisty thriller set in the peaceful (or maybe not so peaceful) Herefordshire countryside.

When Lindsay Ellis was a teenager,  he stumbled across the dead body of her boyfriend Simon’s father, who had been battered to death.

Someone in the village knows who murdered Simon's father, and why.

Does the actual killer suspect Lindsay also knows the identity of the murderer, and is Lindsay now in great danger, too?

Available to buy from Amazon

 

Clarity Voice Spray

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Herb Kingdom

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but if you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from

https://theherbkingdom.com/ref/7/

Creative Writing Student Handbook - Margaret James

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon

Notes From The Lost by Cathie Hartigan

Two young friends go to war, but only one makes it home. Why is he not welcomed? 

In modern-day Exeter, Ros discovers what happened,

but in doing so reveals long-held family secrets.

For better, or for worse?

"a gripping and well-researched WW2 story, full of heart and emotion. Ros didn't just hold her own future in her hands,

she held the destiny of the people that she now knew as friends."

What an incredible story.

I loved the songs, felt like I could hear

the music and adored the ending.

Truly a wonderful read."

Available to buy from Amazon.