All Reviews

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

It has been a tad chilly these last few days and nights after our mostly mild November.

By Jan Rosser | 07 Dec 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Bobby Girls By Johanna Bell

Readers Reviews Of The Bobby Girls By Johanna Bell

My reviewers have been reading their copies of The Bobby Girls by Johanna Bell

By Jan Rosser | 05 Dec 2019

Christmas Capers (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

Christmas Capers (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

It has been some time since I wrote about Little G and Small.

By Carol Hedges | 04 Dec 2019

Romanian Rhapsody

Romanian Rhapsody

When I mentioned a holiday in Romania, I faced incredulity and dark mutterings of  “has she lost it?”

By Serena Fairfax | 30 Nov 2019

Readers Reviews Of Wren Jane Beacon On The Cut By D J Lindsay

Readers Reviews Of Wren Jane Beacon On The Cut By D J Lindsay

D J Lindsay very kindly sent out copies of his latest book and I now have the reviews back to share with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 28 Nov 2019

Reviewing The Exmouth Floods In 1960

Reviewing The Exmouth Floods In 1960

I was 14 yrs old in 1960. Our family were living in Exmouth, Devon & had just moved into a house in Park Road.

By Rosemary Ann Smith | 27 Nov 2019

Remembering My Interview With Dr Mark Porter MBE MB DS DA DCH

Remembering My Interview With Dr Mark Porter MBE MB DS DA DCH

I interviewed Doctor Mark Porter in 2015 for my previous OAPSchat website. Mark regularly broadcasts on Radio 4.

By Jan Rosser | 25 Nov 2019

Synopsis Of Notes From The Lost by  Cathie Hartigan

Synopsis Of Notes From The Lost by Cathie Hartigan

Isn't it amazing what can happen as the result of a chance conversation? 

By Cathie Hartigan | 24 Nov 2019

What Size Am I?

What Size Am I?

Shopping for clothes is meant to be a pleasurable experience - right?

By Jan Rosser | 14 Nov 2019

Reviewing My  Trip To Ypres To Visit The Menin Gate

Reviewing My Trip To Ypres To Visit The Menin Gate

I have wanted to visit The Menin Gate in Ypres- now known as Ieper for several years and we at last managed it earlier last month.

By Sheila Holley | 10 Nov 2019

My Review Of Hill Of Beans By Ralph McTell

My Review Of Hill Of Beans By Ralph McTell

After a nine year wait, Ralph McTell has a new CD out!

By Jan Rosser | 09 Nov 2019

My Review And Q And A With The Upbeat Beatles

My Review And Q And A With The Upbeat Beatles

I went to see The Upbeat Beatles at The Courtyard in Hereford on 31st October 2019. What a show!

By Jan Rosser | 07 Nov 2019

Reviewing Memories Of My Children's Birthday Parties Including An Indoor Picnic In November!!

Reviewing Memories Of My Children's Birthday Parties Including An Indoor Picnic In November!!

On reading about one woman's ridiculously expensive birthday party for her child, I thought back to when my two daughters were young.

By June Tate | 03 Nov 2019

Synopsis And Readers Reviews Of A Long Dark Rainbow By Michael Tappenden

Synopsis And Readers Reviews Of A Long Dark Rainbow By Michael Tappenden

Philippa Iliffe of The Book Guild Ltd very kindly sent out copies of The Long Dark Rainbow to reviewers. Author Michael Tappenden starts off with a synopsis.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Nov 2019

Synopsis Of Wren Jane Beacon On The Cut

Synopsis Of Wren Jane Beacon On The Cut

The Cut:  In 1941 there were still many professional workers on the English canal system, and they referred to the canals as ‘The Cut’.

By Douglas J Lindsay | 27 Oct 2019

Reviewing Ninja Blender & Soup Maker HB150UK

Reviewing Ninja Blender & Soup Maker HB150UK

How exciting to be sent the new Ninja Blender and Soup Maker from Ninja Kitchen!

By Jan Rosser | 25 Oct 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Little B&B At Cove End By Linda Mitchelmore

Readers Reviews Of The Little B&B At Cove End By Linda Mitchelmore

Harper Collins have very kindly sent out Spiral Bound copies of this novel and I am delighted to share readers reviews below.

By Jan Rosser | 19 Oct 2019

ReviewSpot Topical News Quiz Week 79 Part 2

ReviewSpot Topical News Quiz Week 79 Part 2

Welcome to Week 79 of the Topical News Quiz.

By Jan Rosser | 15 Oct 2019

Herb Kingdom

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but if you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from TheHerbKingdom.com

Notes From The Lost by Cathie Hartigan

Two young friends go to war, but only one makes it home.

Why is he not welcomed?

In modern-day Exeter,

Ros discovers what happened,

but in doing so reveals

long-held family secrets.

For better, or for worse?

"a gripping and well-researched WW2 story,

full of heart and emotion”

"Ros didn’t just hold her own future in her hands,

she held the destiny of the people

that she now knew as friends.

What an incredible story.

I loved the songs, felt like I could hear

the music and adored the ending.

Truly a wonderful read."

Available to buy from Amazon.

Clarity Voice Spray

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Creative Writing Student Handbook - Margaret James

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon